How can I start mining?

Discussion in 'Mining' started by Damon, Nov 14, 2017.

1. Damon

Damon BoxInitiate
    Founder

Nov 10, 2017
    Male
    I recently started learning about crypto currencies and working the investing angle so far but seems like mining coins directly would be better. At least I think.
    Questions like:
    1. Where would new miner begin?
    2. How much money should I expect to invest initially?
    3. Are there coins available that a small miner can mine profitably?
    I've watched many you tube videos on the subject however, seems like this forum has some really informed members.

Would anyone like to share their thoughts ideas or lessons learned on mining?

2. Bryan Ngu

Bryan Ngu BoxMember
    Founder

Nov 13, 2017
    Male
    Hey Damon, I just started mining. Hopefully, I can help you with my journey of setting up a mining machine.

1. Where would new miner begin?
    You could use any PC that is unused to start mining. Second, create a wallet for the coins to be deposited once mined. Third, as a beginner like me, I use Nicehash as it is the easiest program to start off. Basically what NiceHash does is to optimize mining the most profitable coin according to your hardware and pay you out in BitCoin.
    1. How much money should I expect to invest initially?
    You can go as low as free (Using your old machine) to getting $10,000 or $1,000,0000 (Building a huge farm). I started off my mining rig with $10,000 investment.
    1. Are there coins available that a small miner can mine profitably?
    Hm... you can check this website whattomine.com. It will show you what's the most profitable coin to mine according to your system. However, it varies day to day as difficulty rise and changes often.

I will definitely share with you more once I got my Rig.

Hope this helps.

Oh! by the way, there is a mining forum in the sub category.

bukaeagle likes this.
  3. Ethan

Ethan Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Founder CoinMaster