How do you Value a Coin (Cyptocurrency)?

Discussion in 'Crypto Forum' started by Bryan Ngu, Nov 13, 2017.

1. Bryan Ngu

Bryan Ngu BoxMember
    Founder

Nov 13, 2017
    Male
    Hi Guys!

This is my first question on the forum. My background is in financial analysis and I have been studying companies performance and value. My question is How Do We Value a Coin's worth?

This got me thinking when Bitcoin Cash surge past $1K and hitting the all-time highs' in price. In the stock market, we study company past financial performances and understanding company's future plan to gauge its current market value. We use Price to Earning, Price to Book Ratio, Enterprise Value and so on to calculate it's value.

I understand "Value" could be subjective as everyone has their own opinion on value, but is there a way to calculate an intrinsic value of a coin? Example: Etheruem is worth $xxx of USD.

Thanks!

2. Damon

Damon BoxInitiate
    Founder

Nov 10, 2017
    Male
    hi Bryan,

I just recently started trading coins as well and had similar questions. I'm not a investing or financial professional but rather a forex day trader who got tired of his IT job a couple years ago but that is another story.

Here's some of the sites I use and things I've learned about value of crypto coin:

1. Every day I look at Tradingview.com and go to their charts tab and look at the price action on the major coin like BTC, BCH, Dash, ETH, etc and compare it to USD. I also compare all the other coins to and BTC as well since my exchange does transactions in BTC.
    2. Next I look at Cryptocurrency Market Capitalizations | CoinMarketCap | https://coinmarketcap.com/ and then review total market cap for market, then volume and 24hr price changes for each coin.
    3. I opened an exchange account on Bettrix.com and review volumes and prices which gives me a feel of where I might invest for the day.